IFBA: International Federation of Biosafety Associations

The IFBA would like to acknowledge and thank   
Germfree for sponsoring our new website      
Back You are here: Home About Us About IFBA Board of Directors About Us Board of Directors

Board of Directors

Sheila Ribeiro, Board Observer (USA)

Sheila Ribeiro is a Program Manager at CRDF Global overseeing a multifaceted portfolio that promotes international collaboration in the biosecurity, One Health and research collaboration arenas. Working with U.S. and other international funder agencies, she supports a multi-sectoral and multi-disciplinary approach focused on the prevention, detection and response to public health incidents. In coordination with a wide network of international subject matter experts, and local biosafety and biosecurity champions, she has facilitated improvement in laboratory infrastructure and biorisk management best practices to reduce the threat of misuse of biological materials and expertise. She leads programs that develop and empower local organizations to identify and address their needs, in alignment with international standards and best practices. In addition to enhancing biosafety and biosecurity, Sheila also works to enable collaborative global research on infectious diseases via projects designed to foster engagement with next generation advocates. Her capacity building efforts are designed for long-term outcomes and extend across South and Southeast Asia, Eurasia, Middle East and Africa.

Sheila Ribeiro

Leonora Nusblat, Board Member (Argentina)

Leonora Nusblat is a Biochemist with a Masters degree in Molecular Microbiology. She has been involved in the Public Health sector in Argentina in different capacities ; working for eighteen years at the National Administration of Laboratories and Institutes of Health (ANLIS. Dr. C. G. Malbrán) an Institution that depends on the Ministry of Health of Argentina. Since 2008 she has worked at the Biocontainment Unit (UOCCB) at the ANLIS. Dr. C. G. Malbrán with the main purpouse to strengthen a culture of Biosafety, Biosecurity and Biorisk Management System, becoming the Senior Management of such an Institution in 2015. Since 2015 Leonora is also the Coordinator of the Subcommittee of Biosafety and Biosecurity at the Argentinean Association of Microbiology (AAM), an IFBA Member Biosafety Association. The AAM works towards the implementation of proactive biosafety and biosecurity policies and programs by governments and public health organizations with the goal of better research, surveillance and diagnosis, and more effective global initiatives for the prevention and treatment of infectious diseases. Nowadays she’s also focussing her work in International Security and is finishing a Regional Postgraduate Diploma in International Security, Disarmament and Non-proliferation. Leonora has also worked for ten years in the Pharmacy Industry in the Control Quality área of Medical Products.

Leonora Nusblat2

IFBA Members3
IFBA Members Presentation 17 11

IFBA is a proud member of:

STB partner 17

JEE allianceGHSAC logo 17

International Federation of Biosafety Associations
102-2460 Lancaster Road
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, K1B 4S5
Phone: +613-231-8555
Fax: +613-231-3970